College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Environmental Science & Policy

Three ENSP Majors Named Hollings Scholars

Four Maryland sophomores, three of them majoring in Environmental Science and Policy (ENSP), have been awarded Ernest F. Hollings Scholarships by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Office of Education.

The NOAA Hollings Scholarship Program provides a financial award of up to $9,500 annually for two years beginning in September 2016; and includes a full-time, 10-week, paid summer research internship at a NOAA facility the summer after junior year. This internship provides the Scholars with "hands-on" practical educational training experience in NOAA-related science, research, technology, policy, management, and education activities.  Maryland’s Hollings Scholarship Awardees for 2016 are:

Willem Klajbor – Majors in ENSP - Marine and Coastal Management, and Economics.  Willem is a member of the College Park Scholars Environment, Technology, and Economy program, and is a member of the University’s Student Sustainability Committee and Student Honor Council.

Jessica MacGregor – ENSP - Biodiversity and Conservation Biology, Minor in Spanish. Jessica is a member of the Integrated Life Science program in the University Honors College. She interned with the U.S. Geological Survey last summer, helping install Surface Elevation Tables (SETs) in the Chesapeake Bay.

Emily Starobin – ENSP - Politics and Policy, Minor in Spanish.  Emily is a member of the University Honors Program, and was a sustainability intern with the Mt. Washington Pediatric Hospital in Baltimore during summer 2015.

Erica Brown, who is majoring in Bioengineering and minoring in Sustainability Studies, is the fourth NOAA Hollings Scholar.  With four awards Maryland tied for third most Hollings Scholars in the nation, with only two institutions nationwide receiving more awards.  Last year, ENSP majors Michelle Graulty (Biodiversity and Conservation Biology) and Annie Rice (Environmental Politics and Policy) won this prestigious award.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility